
Please type or print legibly:
Name (first, initial & last)
______________________________________________________

Mailing Address (street)
______________________________________________________

City ___________________________  State _____  Zip_ ________

Soc. Sec. # ________ - _______ - _______ (required by Idaho Law)
Sex _______ Height _________ Weight ______Hair Color_ ______

Eye Color _____   Date of Birth  ____________________________

Phone  (                  ) _________ - ___________________________

E-mail address (optional) _________________________________ 

Idaho Nonresident License Application
Mail to: Idaho Department of Fish and Game, P. O. Box 25, Boise, ID 83707  Attn: Licenses 

For Fed-Ex or overnight priority send to: 600 S. Walnut, Boise, ID 83712  Attn: Licenses

Please type or print legibly:
•	 Hunter Education Certification No. 

(if born after January 1, 1975) ___________________________
•	 Archery Education No. _________________________________ 

(for archery–only hunts)

Don’t have an archery education number?  
See the affidavit on the back of this form. 

CHECK BOX FOR ITEMS NEEDED
Fees may change without notice.

Nonresident Hunting Licenses, Tags & Permits
                                                                                                Three-year      One-year
•	 Hunting License (includes three-day fishing license)........ $460.75  $154.75  
Please enter fishing start date  _________________________ 
(Fishing date may be changed prior to start date)

•	 Combination Hunting/Fishing License.............................. $716.50  $240.00 
•	 Small Game Hunting License.....................................................................$97.75  

(not valid first 5 days of pheasant season)
•	 Three-day Small Game Hunting License...................................................$35.50   

Beginning date _________________________ 
(not valid first 5 days of pheasant season) 
 
Junior Mentored or Disabled American Veteran Licenses & Tags

                                                                                                   Three-year    One-year
•	 Junior Mentored Hunting License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $91.75  $31.75 
•	 DAV Hunting (includes three-day fishing license). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $31.75 
•	 Please enter fishing start date  _________________________ 

(Fishing date may be changed prior to start date)
•	 Deer Tag:    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   Regular  $23.75     White-tailed  $23.75 
•	 Elk Tag (mark zone selection at left) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                            $39.75 
•	 Bear Tag. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                  $23.75 
•	 Second Bear Tag. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            $23.75 
•	 Turkey Tag. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                $19.75 
•	 Extra Turkey Tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                           $19.75 

•	 Deer Tags:. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Regular  $301.75     White-tailed  $301.75 
•	 Elk Tag (mark your selection in column at left.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                  $416.75 
•	 Bear Tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $186.00 
•	 Reduced Bear Tag (Lolo, Selway, Middle Fork zones). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $41.75 
•	 2nd Bear Tag (Lolo, Selway, Middle Fork zones and units 4, 6, 7, 9) . $41.75 
•	 Mountain Lion Tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                        $186.00 
•	 Reduced Lion Tag (Lolo, Selway, Middle Fork zones). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $41.75 
•	 2nd Lion Tag (Lolo, Selway, Middle Fork zones). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $41.75 
•	 Gray Wolf . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $31.75  

Quantity ______ (up to 5 per hunter @ $31.75 each). . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                $_______
•	 Turkey Tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                                $80.00 
•	 Extra Turkey Tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $80.00 
•	 Archery Validation (See back for details). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        $20.00 
•	 Muzzleloader Validation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     $20.00 
•	 Wildlife Management Area Pheasant Permit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      $51.75  

(required to hunt pheasants on some IDFG WMAs, see information on back.)
•	 Sage/Sharptail Grouse Validation. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $4.75 
•	 Migratory Bird Validation . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     $4.75  

(required to hunt doves and waterfowl, complete information on back.)
•	 Nongame Hunting License. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                    $35.50 
•	 Nonresident Bear Baiting Permit (available March 1) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $31.75 

Nonresident Fishing Licenses & Permits
                                                                                                  Three-year     One-year
•	 Season Fishing License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                           $291.25  $98.25 
•	 Junior (17 or younger) Season Fishing License. . . . . . . . . . .          $61.75  $21.75 
•	 Daily Fishing License First Day. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                $12.75  

Additional consecutive days @ $6.00 each. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        $_______ 
Total number of days: ________ Beginning date_________________

•	 Steelhead Permit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            $25.75  
(season fishing license required.)

•	 3-Day Salmon-Steelhead License (also valid for general fishing) . . . . . . $37.50  
Beginning date _________________________

•	 Two-pole Fishing Permit Validation. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15.50 

K:/RULES BOOKS 04/2015/51907			     Updated 04/17/15

Idaho Fish & Game Office Use Only:
Date:__________________ • Cash / Check • # ______________

Please send the following booklets: 
 Big Game 		   Fishing     	  Moose/Goat/Sheep 
 Waterfowl		   Upland Game/Turkey/Furbearer

I enjoy all of Idaho’s outdoor resources and am enclosing a tax-deductible 
contribution to the 

•	 Nongame Wildlife Trust Fund. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                             $___________

•	 Access Yes!. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                            $___________

Zones — For Elk Only
THESE ARE GENERAL SEASON TAGS

A 
TAG

B 
TAG

CH = CONTROLLED HUNTS  
Not Available for Purchase

Panhandle - 1, 2, 3, 4, 4A, 5, 6, 7, 9
Palouse - 8, 8A, 11A
Dworshak - 10A  
(B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)  
Lolo - 10, 12
(A & B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)
Elk City - 14, 15, 16
(B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)  
Selway - 16A, 17, 19, 20
(A & B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)
Middle Fork - 20A, 26, 27 
(A & B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)
Salmon - 21, 21A, 28, 36B
(B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)  
Weiser River - 22, 32, 32A
McCall - 19A, 23, 24, 25
Lemhi - 29, 37, 37A, 51 CH

Beaverhead - 30, 30A, 58, 59, 59A CH

Brownlee - 31 CH

Sawtooth - 33, 34, 35, 36
(A & B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)
Pioneer - 36A, 49, 50, CH

South Hills -  46, 47, 54, 55, 56,57
Boise River - 39
Smoky-Bennett - 43 44,45,48,52
Big Desert - 52A, 68 CH

Island Park - 60, 60A, 61, 62, 62A CH

Palisades - 64, 65, 67
Tex Creek - 66, 69
Bannock - 70, 71, 72, 73, 73A, 74 CH

Bear River - 75, 77, 78
(B Tags limited—first-come, first-served)  
Diamond Creek - 66A, 76 
(A Tags limited—first-come, first-served) CH

Snake River - 53, 63, 63A, 68A CH

For general elk seasons, choose an A or B tag in one zone only and place 
a check-mark in the appropriate column below. For descriptions of 
zones, see the Big Game Seasons brochure. Units in each zone are listed 
here for easy reference. Please circle the unit number you plan to hunt 
in. You are not restricted to this unit, refer to current seasons and rules 
for details. Seasons may change without notice.

•	 TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED                                $___________



Purchase Methods

Nonresident licenses, general season tags and permits may be 
purchased at Fish and Game offices, over the phone, on the Internet 
or at any license vendor statewide. There is a quota on deer and 
elk tags, so don’t delay your purchase. You may have a relative or 
friend purchase for you at a vendor if they have the identification 
information requested on the front of this form. 

You may add a tag for another species via credit card purchase, over 
the Internet or at a license vendor. If you buy an elk tag in December, 
and decide in March to add a deer tag, you can do it!

Credit Card Purchase: Visa, MasterCard and Discover. Dial 1-800-
55HUNT5 (554-8685). You can also make your purchase online at 
fishandgame.idaho.gov. There is an extra charge for this service. The 
advantage is immediate confirmation of purchase, with no uncertainty 
about missing the quota.

Mail: Fill out and mail in this form, along with proper payment, to 
the address on the front of this application. Processing of applications 
received in the mail begins December 1. Be sure the correct amount 
is submitted in check or money order. If more than one application 
is mailed per envelope with one check to cover them all, be sure the 
amount is correct. An error could result in delay or return of all the 
applications in the package. Personal checks accepted.

If you use an outfitter, the outfitter must purchase your tags.

Other Important Information

Licenses, tags and permits are not transferrable. Refunds are 
allowed as specified in the big game rules.

Nonresident Disabled Veterans (DAV):  Nonresident disabled 
American veterans with a disability rating of 40 percent or more by 
Veterans Affairs are eligible for nonresident DAV reduced fees for 
licenses and tags.  Individuals must submit a letter from the Veterans 
Affairs office verifying a service-connected disability rating of 40 
percent or greater. Such documentation may bear any date prior to 
license application. Documentation will be required only for the initial 
application and will not be required for subsequent applications.

Migratory Bird License Validation: Required to hunt any species 
managed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service as a migratory 
species. Data collected will provide a better basis for management of 
interstate/international species.

Did you hunt migratory birds in Idaho during the last hunting season?

(Yes/No) ____________

If yes, how many days did you hunt?______

If so, what was your estimated harvest of the following:

Ducks ___;   Geese ____;   Doves ___;   Snipe ___;   Coots ___ 

WMA Upland Game Permit: Pheasants are stocked on several 
Department owned Wildlife Management Areas. This permit is 
required only when hunting pheasants on Market Lake, Mud Lake, 
Sterling, Fort Boise, C.J. Strike, Montour, Niagara Springs, Payette 
River and Cartier Slough WMAs. 

Deer Tags

Idaho has two general season deer tags, regular and white-tailed. 

White-Tailed Deer Tag: Tag can be used to harvest a white-tailed 
deer only and allows hunting opportunities in September, October and 
November hunts. If you plan on hunting during the later November 
white-tailed deer rut hunts, the white-tailed deer tag is the right tag.

Regular Deer Tags: Tag can be used to harvest either white-tailed or 
mule deer and is valid for any Regular Deer hunt. If you plan to hunt 
during September or October and prefer to hunt both white-tailed and 
mule deer, a regular deer tag is the right tag. 

Nonresident Deer or Elk Tags

Any nonresident deer or elk general season tags remaining unsold 
after August 1 may be purchased for use as a second tag.

Nonresident deer and elk tags (excluding Nonresident Junior 
Mentored deer or elk tags) may be used to take a black bear, gray wolf 
or mountain lion instead of a deer or elk, if a season is open for that 
species, where and when the deer or elk tag is valid, and if there is 
an open deer or elk season in that same unit.  Tags cannot be used for 
deer or elk after it used to tag a bear, mountain lion, or wolf. 

Tags Exchanges

You may exchange your deer or elk tag for a like species until the 
opening of the first season for which your tag is valid. Cost is $3.75. 
If you have purchased a tag, you may apply for a controlled hunt in 
any zone, and if you are drawn your tag must be exchanged for the 
proper controlled hunt tag. 

Archery Hunters

Idaho requires all first-time bowhunters to pass an archery education 
course. Experienced bowhunters are exempted. Please fill in the 
archery information at the top of the front page of this application, or 
complete the affidavit at the bottom of this page.

Three Year License

•	 Spend less time in line and more time in the field – check out 
the Three-year Licenses in the Big Game Regulations or online  
fishandgame.idaho.gov.

Hunting Passport

•	 Interested in hunting but haven’t completed a hunter education 
course? Sign up for the Hunting Passport - which allows any 
first-time hunter, resident or nonresident, age 8 and older to try 
hunting with a licensed adult mentor for one year without first 
having to complete an Idaho hunter education course.

Idaho Bowhunter Affidavit

I, (name)___________________________________________ ,  (driver’s license number)_______________________________________ 	(state)_ __________

Completed an approved Bowhunter Education course in Idaho or another state. Specify: (state)_ __________________________________ ,	(year)___________

OR

Previously held a valid archery permit in Idaho or have been legally authorized to participate in archery hunts in another state.

Specify: (state)_____________________________________,	 (year)_ ________________________________________

I certify that the above information is true and correct.

Signature:_ _________________________________________________________________________ Date:__________________________

  These Forms May be Photocopied

DATES TO REMEMBER

January 15 - February 15—Application period for spring black bear controlled hunts.
Febuary 1 - March 1—Application period for spring turkey controlled hunts.
April 1 - 30—Application period for mountain goat, bighorn sheep and moose controlled hunts.
May 1 - June 5—Application period for deer, elk, pronghorn, fall black bear and fall turkey controlled hunts.
December 1—Nonresident licenses and general season tags available for the following year.

The Idaho Outfitters and Guides Board website at
http://oglb.idaho.gov includes a search engine that will 

help you locate outfitters by activity and by area; for a list 
call 208-327-7380. Use of an outfitter or guide

 is not required by law.


